Karl Mamola to Receive the American Association of Physics Teachers’ Oersted Medal

The American Association of Physics Teachers has just announced our friend and colleague Karl Mamola has been selected to receive their most prestigious award, the Oersted medal. The Association’s description of this award (see http://www.aapt.org/Programs/awards/oersted.cfm) states:

“The Oersted Medal recognizes those who have had an outstanding, widespread, and lasting impact on the teaching of physics.”

Previous medalists include Nobel Laureates such as Richard Feynman, Hans Bethe, and Robert Millikan, as well other renowned physicists including Carl Sagan, Freeman Dyson, and Phillip Morrison.

Here is the link to the AAPT press release announcing the award: http://www.aapt.org/aboutaapt/Karl-Mamola-Oersted-pr-9152014.cfm

Karl will be receiving the Oersted medal in January at the AAPT national winter meeting in San Diego. He will deliver an acceptance lecture at a special ceremonial session.

Karl Mamola
Published: Sep 22, 2014 4:37pm