Faculty and Staff

Our faculty and staff are committed to excellence in teaching, research, and community engagement. With 15 tenure track faculty, multiple adjunct professors, and an outstanding support staff, our department offers a broad range of research topics while still being small enough to provide each student, undergraduate or graduate, personal attention and guidance.

Name Position Office Phone Website
James P. Sherman Professor GWH 325 828-262-2438
Leah B. Sherman Director of Undergraduate Laboratories GWH 219 828-262-7089
David Sitar Astronomy Laboratory Instructor, Rankin "Go To" Astronomy Facility Director, Astronomy Outreach Coordinator GWH 127A 828-262-2463
Rachel L. Smith Assistant Professor; Director, Astronomy & Space Observation Research Laboratory, Nature Research Center, North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences, Raleigh, NC 919-707-8239 Website
Christopher S. Thaxton Professor GWH 223 828-262-6836
Scott A. Thomas Laboratory Manager; Lecturer GWH 165 828-262-2435

Campaign for Appalachian - Give Now


Mail Address:
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ASU Box 32106
Boone, NC 28608-2106 

Physical Address (also for shipping):
GWH 231
525 Rivers Street
Boone, NC, 28608-2106

Telephone: 828-262-3090
Fax: 828-262-2049

Social Media:
Twitter: @asuphyast

QEP Global Learning